5/5/2013 — 4.2M + 3.7M Earthquakes at Lava Hot Springs, Idaho — Dormant volcano movement

May 5, 2013 .. Two earthquakes at Lava Hot Springs, ID. *3 miles away*

More dormant volcano activity — no surprise at this point.

Here are my past posts on the dormant volcanic movement happening :

https://sincedutch.wordpress.com/?s=dormant&submit=Search

https://sincedutch.wordpress.com/?s=volcano&submit=Search

lava hot springs idaho earthquake may 5 2013

———————

Wondering why the USGS lists the nearest town as “Soda Springs”.. when clearly Lava Hot Springs is right there at the epicenter… I’m sure they might use the population density map as the reason to NOT list this town, but as someone who is interested in geology / volcanology / seismology , knowing this is the location, makes a HUGE difference it determining the actual cause of the movement.

For the general public, the USGS would just have you see this :

M4.2 – 28km W of Soda Springs, Idaho 2013-05-06 03:13:42 UTC

In reality, the above screenshot shows you what is at the earthquake epicenter.  Lava Hot Springs.

Here’s to DOWNPLAYING EARTHQUAKES….lol… hasn’t the USGS seen the Movie Dante’s Peak ?

Remember..

“STAY CALM !!! “

 

——————–

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/usc000gp04#summary

M4.2 – 28km W of Soda Springs, Idaho 2013-05-06 03:13:42 UTC

Earthquake location 42.608°N, 111.947°W

Idaho
42.608°N, 111.946°W
Depth: 11.3km (7.0mi)

Event Time

  1. 2013-05-06 03:13:42 UTC
  2. 2013-05-05 21:13:42 UTC-06:00 at epicenter
  3. 2013-05-05 22:13:42 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

42.608°N 111.947°W depth=11.3km (7.0mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 28km (17mi) W of Soda Springs, Idaho
  2. 50km (31mi) SE of Pocatello, Idaho
  3. 54km (34mi) SE of Chubbuck, Idaho
  4. 72km (45mi) SSE of Blackfoot, Idaho
  5. 205km (127mi) N of Salt Lake City, Utah

——————-

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/usc000gp07#summary

M3.6 – 29km W of Soda Springs, Idaho 2013-05-06 03:20:56 UTC

Earthquake location 42.620°N, 111.955°W

Event Time

  1. 2013-05-06 03:20:56 UTC
  2. 2013-05-05 21:20:56 UTC-06:00 at epicenter
  3. 2013-05-05 22:20:56 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

42.620°N 111.955°W depth=4.9km (3.0mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 29km (18mi) W of Soda Springs, Idaho
  2. 48km (30mi) SE of Pocatello, Idaho
  3. 53km (33mi) SE of Chubbuck, Idaho
  4. 70km (43mi) SSE of Blackfoot, Idaho
  5. 206km (128mi) N of Salt Lake City, Utah

——————-

6 thoughts on “5/5/2013 — 4.2M + 3.7M Earthquakes at Lava Hot Springs, Idaho — Dormant volcano movement

  1. Dutch, They HAARP’d last night in that area and are doing it again tonight. Unreal.

    Yellowstone has been active since Dec. 2012 and has amped up ever since. Between the digging for oil in ND and the fracking all around it, it’s only a matter of time before they go too far (they already have, IMO).

    If you live near Yellowstone and surrounding areas, make sure you pay close attention and have bug out bags in place!

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s