5/16/2013 — 4.0M earthquake near Wyoming Phosphate mine

A 4.0M earthquake struck Wyoming .. near midnight local time, going into the early AM , May 16, 2013.

Within 3 miles of the earthquake epicenter is a large google earth placemarked Phosphate mine.

The depth of the earthquake is at what I call “fracking depth”… normally the depth we see most of the OK, AR, CO earthquakes, at the drilling / pumping operations.

wyoming phosphate mine earthquake may 16 2013

————–

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/usb000gwtm#summary

Event Time

  1. 2013-05-16 05:23:52 UTC
  2. 2013-05-15 23:23:52 UTC-06:00 at epicenter
  3. 2013-05-16 00:23:52 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

42.779°N 111.136°W depth=5.0km (3.1mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 17km (11mi) WNW of Afton, Wyoming
  2. 102km (63mi) SE of Ammon, Idaho
  3. 105km (65mi) SE of Idaho Falls, Idaho
  4. 107km (66mi) E of Pocatello, Idaho
  5. 232km (144mi) NNE of Salt Lake City, Utah

————-

We have seen “mine” earthquakes before, in the near term past  — a sign of building pressure upon the craton.. showing at weak spots in the crust before the greater movement occurs (within weeks to a few months at the most).

I base the weeks/months time frame for larger movement, based upon PAST similar occurrences in 2011, and 2012.

https://sincedutch.wordpress.com/?s=earthquake+mine&submit=Search

3 thoughts on “5/16/2013 — 4.0M earthquake near Wyoming Phosphate mine

  1. Pingback: 5/17/2013 — 4.4M earthquake — Ottowa, Canada — Craton movement continues |

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s