6/14/2013 — Earthquake in Southwest Utah — Caves + Black Warrior Mine

June 14, 2013 :

An 2.6 magnitude earthquake struck in Southwest Utah.

Upon review of the coordinates on Google Earth, two sites of interest reside very close to the earthquake epicenter.

Bloomington Caves, and the Black Warrior Mine.

southwest utah earthquake june 14 2013

Cave information:

http://www.caves.org/grotto/timpgrotto/caves/bloomington.html

Mine information:

http://www.mindat.org/loc-180465.html

____________

Earthquake information:

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/uu60027137#summary

Event Time

  1. 2013-06-14 13:58:28 UTC
  2. 2013-06-14 07:58:28 UTC-06:00 at epicenter
  3. 2013-06-14 08:58:28 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

37.109°N 113.865°W depth=9.6km (6.0mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 17km (11mi) WSW of Ivins, Utah
  2. 24km (15mi) W of Saint George, Utah
  3. 31km (19mi) W of Washington, Utah
  4. 38km (24mi) NNE of Mesquite, Nevada
  5. 437km (272mi) NNW of Phoenix, Arizona 

One thought on “6/14/2013 — Earthquake in Southwest Utah — Caves + Black Warrior Mine

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s