5/24/2014 — Europe 6.9M earthquake + New Earthquake Watch / Overview

Newest Earthquake Overview / Watch video update can be viewed here:


As this video was processing, a 6.9M earthquake struck Southern Europe, in Greece.

turkey greece earthquake may 24 2014

Most definitely a noteworthy earthquake for Europe, or anywhere else on the planet for that matter.

 

greece 6.9m earthquake may 24 2014a

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/usb000r2hc#summary

M6.9 – 19km S of Kamariotissa, Greece 2014-05-24 09:25:03 UTC

Event Time

  1. 2014-05-24 09:25:03 UTC
  2. 2014-05-24 11:25:03 UTC+02:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-05-24 04:25:03 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

40.305°N 25.453°E depth=10.0km (6.2mi)


Graphic below shows the deeper movement when it began swarming, on May 22nd into 23rd (2014).

asthenosphere west pacific may 22 2014


Graphic below shows the North American Craton vs. the actual earthquakes over 7 days time (up to May 21 2014).

Clearly the edge of the craton is being displaced.

virginia earthquake may 21 2014


Use the multiple earthquake monitoring links here to stay up to date with this ongoing unrest:

http://liveweatherfeeds.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s