7/11/2014 — 6.8M earthquake strikes off the Eastern Shores of Japan – 84miles from the 2011 Mega-quake location

A large earthquake has struck off the Eastern shores of Japan.

Measuring an initial 6.8 magnitude (now revised to 6.5M by the USGS), luckily no sizable tsunami warning with this seismic event.

An advisory has been issued for the localized coast of Eastern Japan (shown below in yellow):

6.8m japan july 11 2014

 


http://www.jma.go.jp/en/tsunami/

tsunami a

japan warning


A regional tsunami warning HAS been issued according to CNN:

http://www.cnn.com/2014/07/11/world/asia/japan-earthquake/index.html

tsunami


This event occurred just 84 miles away from the 2011 9.0M Japan mega-earthquake location (which produced a large tsunami killing over 10,000 people).

6.8m japan july 11 2014a


USGS information on this earthquake below:

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/usb000rs50#summary

M6.8 – 129km ESE of Namie, Japan 2014-07-11 19:22:00 UTC

Event Time

  1. 2014-07-11 19:22:00 UTC
  2. 2014-07-12 04:22:00 UTC+09:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-07-11 14:22:00 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

37.069°N 142.364°E depth=13.3km (8.2mi)

 


multiple earthquake monitoring links here:

 

http://liveweatherfeeds.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “7/11/2014 — 6.8M earthquake strikes off the Eastern Shores of Japan – 84miles from the 2011 Mega-quake location

  1. Pingback: Dutchsinse: 7/11/2014 — 6.8M EARTHQUAKE STRIKES OFF THE EASTERN SHORES OF JAPAN – 84MILES FROM THE 2011 MEGA-QUAKE LOCATION | 2012: What's the 'real' truth?

Comments are closed.