7/21/2014 — 6.9M earthquake strikes West Pacific — 380 miles deep — Inside the Asthenosphere

A large borderline 7.0 magnitude earthquake (USGS 6.9M) struck Northeast of New Zealand, East of Papua New Guinea, in Fiji / Vanuatu.

6.9m earthquake vanuatu july 21 2014


 

The earthquake occurred at a fairly deep level. 380+ miles deep.  Occurring on the edge of the Asthenosphere.

Over the past several months we’ve seen heavy activity in this location, at this depth.

asthenosphere earthquakes may 4 2014

 


These earthquakes, along with the telltale depth, are volcanic related.

See this impressive video for an idea of just how “active” the area is.

6.9m earthquake vanuatu july 21 2014a

6.9m earthquake vanuatu july 21 2014aa

 


USGS information on this current earthquake is below:

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/usb000ruzk#summary

M6.9 – 94km NNE of Ndoi Island, Fiji 2014-07-21 14:54:41 UTC

Event Time

  1. 2014-07-21 14:54:41 UTC
  2. 2014-07-21 02:54:41 UTC-12:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-07-21 09:54:41 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

19.829°S 178.464°W depth=616.4km (383.0mi)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s