8/23/2014 — 6.7M earthquake strikes near the Coast of Central Chile

A large 6.7 magnitude earthquake has struck Central Chile, a few miles inland from the coast of the Pacific.

6.7m earthquake chile aug 23 2014


No first hand reports are in yet, but I would assume moderate damage has occurred in the region following this event.  Expect more aftershocks, and possibly larger earthquakes in the region in the near term.


http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/usb000s5rc#summary

M6.6 – 18km WNW of Hacienda La Calera, Chile 2014-08-23 22:32:23 UTC

Event Time

  1. 2014-08-23 22:32:23 UTC
  2. 2014-08-23 18:32:23 UTC-04:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-08-23 17:32:23 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

32.702°S 71.387°W depth=32.0km (19.9mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 18km (11mi) WNW of Hacienda La Calera, Chile
  2. 23km (14mi) NNW of Quillota, Chile
  3. 31km (19mi) SSW of La Ligua, Chile
  4. 36km (22mi) NNW of Limache, Chile
  5. 108km (67mi) NW of Santiago, Chile

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s