10/30/2014 — TWO 4.2M earthquakes + swarm strike Northern Nevada — Old Volcanic Fissure

Two back to back 4.2 magnitude earthquakes , and a subsequent earthquake swarm has struck an old volcanic fissure in Northern Nevada.

One of the 4.2M events was a SURFACE quake at 0.0km !

nevada earthquake oct 30 2014

This is the same area in Nevada which was experiencing the volcanic swarms over the past month(s).


USGS earthquake stats below:

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/usb000srrs#summary

M4.1 – Nevada 2014-10-30 15:16:33 UTC

Event Time

  1. 2014-10-30 15:16:33 UTC
  2. Epicenter time not available
  3. 2014-10-30 10:16:33 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

41.910°N 119.618°W depth=0.0km (0.0mi)


http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/nn00465678#summary

M4.1 – 67km ESE of Lakeview, Oregon 2014-10-30 15:16:33 UTC

Event Time

  1. 2014-10-30 15:16:33 UTC
  2. 2014-10-30 08:16:33 UTC-07:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-10-30 10:16:33 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

41.910°N 119.618°W depth=0.0km (0.0mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 67km (42mi) ESE of Lakeview, Oregon
  2. 178km (111mi) E of Altamont, Oregon
  3. 182km (113mi) E of Klamath Falls, Oregon
  4. 187km (116mi) NNE of Susanville, California
  5. 305km (190mi) N of Carson City, Nevada

We saw activity begin to develop at this location back in August of this year (2014):

nevada oregon volcanic earthquake


Just over a week ago, October 21st, earthquake activity returned to Nevada near a series of dormant volcanoes:

nevada volcano earthquake oct 21 2014

 

 

 


Over the past 10 months, there was noteworthy movement at multiple volcanic regions of Nevada:

nevada volcano earthquake may 2 2014

 

 

surface earthquakes nevada april 17 2014

nevada volcano earthquake


Nevada Earthquake Information

One thought on “10/30/2014 — TWO 4.2M earthquakes + swarm strike Northern Nevada — Old Volcanic Fissure

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s