11/01/2014 — 7.2M earthquake in the West Pacific — North of New Zealand / Fiji

A 7.2 magnitude event has struck the West Pacific near Fiji — the same day as a 6.0M earthquake struck in the South Pacific near Easter Island.

http___makeagif.com__media_11-02-2014_FLy5hR


Higher resolution screenshot from Earthquake3D:

7.2M earthquake fiji nov 1 2014

http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/eventpage/usc000stdc#summary

M7.1 – 141km NE of Ndoi Island, Fiji 2014-11-01 18:57:22 UTC

Event Time

  1. 2014-11-01 18:57:22 UTC
  2. 2014-11-01 06:57:22 UTC-12:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-11-01 13:57:22 UTC-05:00 system time

Location

19.698°S 177.794°W depth=434.4km (269.9mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 141km (88mi) NE of Ndoi Island, Fiji
  2. 313km (194mi) WNW of Nuku`alofa, Tonga
  3. 432km (268mi) ESE of Suva, Fiji
  4. 470km (292mi) SE of Lambasa, Fiji
  5. 546km (339mi) ESE of Nadi, Fiji

The 6.0M earthquake near Easter Island, followed by a 7.2M earthquake near Fiji….

We’ve seen this occur before.. same regions, within the same time frame.  On April 15 2012, there was a 6.2M near Easter Island, and then a 6.5M struck near Fiji.

past-24-hours-of-earthquake-4-6-0m-april-15-2012


Monitor earthquakes nationally, and internationally here:

http://liveweatherfeeds.wordpress.com


 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s